‘The Marvels’ Receives Unsurprising Age Rating

carol the marvels

Marvel Studios had its ups and downs with MCU movies this year. Well, one down and one up, to be precise. ‘Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania’ was released in February, and despite being promoted as the first real step towards the upcoming crossover event ‘Avengers: The Kang Dynasty,’ ‘Quantumania’ grossed only $476 million. Although it isn’t the lowest-grossing MCU movie, it is one of the few movies in the franchise that failed to break even during its theatrical run. On the other hand, James Gunn’s ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3’ was released last May to critical and commercial success.

In 15 years of its existence, the Marvel Cinematic Universe spawned 32 feature movies, and this November, we’re going to watch the 33rd installment of the franchise, ‘The Marvels’ This is a direct sequel to 2019’s ‘Captain Marvel,’ and the follow-up to ‘WandaVision,’ ‘Ms. Marvel,’ and ‘Secret Invasion’ shows that were released on Disney+ in the last three years. ‘The Marvels’ will depict Carol Danvers, Kamala Khan, and Monica Rambeau as they assemble into the newest MCU team to fight against Dar-Benn, an Accuser who seeks to restore the Kree Empire.

‘The Marvels’ officially receives the MPA rating.

Motion Picture Association (MPA) recently revealed that the newest MCU flick will be officially rated PG-13, which is totally unsurprising for this franchise. The provided explanation states that the film contains action/violence scenes and brief language, which is also unsurprising.

All of the previous MCU movies were rated PG-13, and it’s known that Marvel Studios’ target audience is mainly teenagers, youngsters, and potentially everybody else. However, even the MCU must deal with some exceptions since next year’s ‘Deadpool 3’ is already set to become the franchise’s first rated-R project.


‘The Marvels‘ Box Office Prediction: Can It Repeat the Original Movie’s Commercial Success?

Brie Larson debuted as Carol Danvers, aka Captain Marvel, in 2019’s ‘Captain Marvel,’ which was released two months before her appearance in ‘Avengers: Endgame,’ where she didn’t have a large role, but she returned to Earth just in time to help the Avengers in the final battle against Thanos. Larson reprised the role again in the mid-credit scene of ‘Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings’ and the last episode of ‘Ms. Marvel,’ which leads directly into the events of ‘The Marvels.’

Apart from Kamala Khan, aka Ms. Marvel, who debuted in her own series on Disney+ last year, the upcoming movie will also feature Monica Rambeau. The character first appeared in ‘Captain Marvel’ as a child, played by Azari Akbar (age 5) and Akira Akbar (age 11). The adult Monica first appeared in 2021’s ‘WandaVision’ series, in which the character was played by Teyonah Parris, who will reprise the role in ‘The Marvels.’

Samuel L. Jackson, an MCU veteran who’s been playing Nick Fury since 2008, also returns to one of his most known roles. The movie’s antagonist, Dar-Benn, is played by Zawe Ashton. With a budget of $274.8 million, ‘The Marvels’ is the most expensive movie since ‘Avengers: Endgame.’

Directed by Nia DaCosta, ‘The Marvels’ opens in theaters worldwide on November 10, 2023.

Are you looking forward to ‘The Marvels’? Share your thoughts and expectations with us in the comments below.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments